PhD Award

The AWGSA PhD Award was established to promote and advance feminist scholarship in Australia by recognising emerging research in the fields of Women’s and Gender Studies and related disciplines.  The award is made to the most outstanding doctoral thesis completed at an Australian university that clearly and extensively engages with feminist paradigms.  The inaugural award was made in 2010, and the prize is awarded every 2 years.

2022 AWGSA PhD Award

Shaez Mortimer (RMIT) Queering Survival: LGBTQA people’s experiences of living through sexual violence 

Highly Commended: Carman Fung (Uni Melb) Sketching out the tomboy: Contemporary conceptualisations of the tomboy identity in lesbian communities in China, Hong Kong and Taiwan

2021 AWGSA PhD Award 

 Jaya Keaney  (Deakin University)Technologies of Likeness: Theorising Race in Queer Families Made Through Third Party Reproduction 

2018 AWGSA PhD Award


Isobelle Barrett-Meyering (Macquarie University)

J. R. Latham (Deakin/University of Melbourne)

2016 AWGSA PhD Award

Winner Juliet Watson (RMIT)


Details of Juliet Watson’s PhD thesis can be found here

2014 AWGSA PhD Award 

Winner: Erica Millar, University of Melbourne
Highly Commended: Kylie Weston-Scheuber (ANU), Catherine Bishop (ANU)

AWGSA PhD Award Judges’ Citations 2014

2012 AWGSA PhD Award

AWGSA PhD Award Judges’ Citations 2012

2010 Inaugural AWGSA Phd Award

AWGSA PhD Award Judges’ Citations 2010

%d bloggers like this: